not strong but . . . (whole)

not strong but . . . (whole) – 15/08/2022

some call me . . .

a
strange man

some
call me weak

I don’t know

appearance counts
for so much

and
so little
it seems

I am not –
I don’t suppose –
especially courageous

but
I do what I must

do what comes
a man’s way

I
have always thought
that enough
was
enough
but some look at me
and find fault

I
have my flaws

that
is as true
as the sun
as the sky
as the deep
of the water

I sometimes
succumb
to my cost –
always
my own –
and I keep
my small shreds
of dignity
like the folds of a cloak
wrapped around

to keep me
whole
you understand

it is
so easy
to unravel

in some ways
I . . .

am not strong
yes
that
is truth
but
it is not
the whole of me

I remember – must
remember –
that there is
a whole
of me

and so
I go on

~

***Edit*** Goodness me. I posted this in the worng blog page! Oh dear.

Author: Frank Prem

Just the poetry. That is all.

4 thoughts on “not strong but . . . (whole)”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.